Erin Phillips

N/A DOB: 19 May 1985 Height: 173 cm Position: Guard Number: 31

Hometown: Adelaide, SA

Junior Association: West Adelaide (SA)

Current Club: N/A

International Debut: 2005


Phillips wasted little time making her mark in Adelaide, lighting up the WNBL with her ability to get to the basket and score freely. By age 19 Phillips was already a WNBL All-Star Five winner, quickly fighting her way into Australian Opals calculations and the 2006 FIBA World Championship team.

At just 21 Phillips was part of the gold medal-winning squad, catching the eye of the WNBA scouts and eventually joining the Connecticut Sun. The good times continued for Phillips as she added two further WNBL All-Star Five honours and a WNBL title to her resume.

This paved the way for Phillips to add an Olympic silver medal to her World Championship gold at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games.

Europe called and Phillips answered, with a short stay in Israel leading to a more permanent stop in Poland, while a move to the Indiana Fever led to the 2012 WNBA Championship.

After spending much of the season coming off the bench, injury thrust Phillips into the starting line-up. She starred in the playoffs, averaging a post-season career-high 10 points per game – shooting 52% from beyond the arc.

Heading into the 2014 WNBA season, Phillips was traded by the Fever to the Phoenix Mercury, where she would join fellow Opals star Penny Taylor, winning her second WNBA Championship.

2015 saw Phillips join the Los Angeles Sparks in the WNBA, signing a three year deal. The veteran joined the LA Sparks in search of her third WNBA championship before being named in the Opals squad in 2016 for her second Olympic campaign.

Following a strong performance in the 2016 Olympic Games, reaching the quarter finals where she had 10 points and three assists, Phillips decided to follow in her father's footsteps perusing a career in Australian Rules Football. As a member of the Adelaide Football Club, Phillips is sure to be a fearsome competitor in the WAFL's inaugural season.

Previous Clubs:

2002-2008 – Adelaide Lightning (WNBL)
2006-2009 – Connecticut Sun (WNBA)
2008-2009 – Ramat Hasharon Electra (Israel)
2009-2010 – Lotos Gdynia (Poland)
2010-2013 – Wilsa Krakow (Poland)
2011-2013 – Indiana Fever (WNBA)
2014-2015 – Phoenix Mercury (WNBA)
2015-2016 - Los Angeles Sparks (WNBA)
2016-Current - Adelaide Crows (WAFL)

Major Awards:

Olympic Games: 2008 (Silver)
FIBA World Championship: 2006 (Gold), 2010, 2014 (Bronze)
Commonwealth Games: 2006 (Gold)
WNBL Champion: 2008
WNBL All-Star Five: 2005, 2006, 2007
WNBA Champion: 2012, 2014
EuroLeague All-Star: 2010
Polish PLKK Champion: 2010, 2011, 2012
Polish PLKK All-Star: 2011, 2012