2022 National junior squads head to the AIS

Share this article

The AIS will welcome 105 of the best young basketballers in the country through their doors during March as the Centre of Excellence (COE) hosts four junior national squad camps.

With a busy schedule of FIBA youth events scheduled for 2022, the Under 17 Women and Men will start preparations for the FIBA Asia Cup and FIBA World Cup while the Under 19 squads also commence their journies to the FIBA Oceania Championships.

Athletes for the four squads have been identified from performances at the 2021 Australian Junior Championships, as well as their respective State Performance Programs as part of the National Performance Pathway.

The Under 17 Men (athletes born in 2005 and 2006) will be the first to come together, meeting at the COE March 8-10 to start their journey towards the FIBA Asia Under 17 Cup, to be held in Kuwait, June 12-19. Melbourne United NBL championship Assistant Coach Justin Schueller will be at the helm of the team for the 2022 campaign.

The WNBL Bendigo Spirit’s Head Coach Tracy York will lead the Under 17 Women (Sapphires), who have FIBA Asia Cup qualifiers in Jordan in June, leading into a potential World Cup in Hungary in July. The Sapphires will be in camp March 21-23 as they gear up for a big year for this talented young group.

Both men and women Under 19 squads will meet at the CoE from March 18-20 for a 3-day intensive camp. David Herbert will once again coach the Under 19 women, after leading the Gems to a silver medal at the 2021 FIBA Under 19 World Cup while CoE head coach Robbie McKinlay will lead the Under 19 Men as the Emus come together for the first time for the March 18 camp.

Full squad lists:


Brad Ballinger                NSW

Abass Bodija                  Queensland

Ethan Bolton                  Victoria

Lachlan Brewer             Tasmania

Carlin Briggs                   Victoria

Lebron Brooks               Queensland

Tyson Crees                    Queensland

Josh Dent                        NSW

Tristan Devers               Victoria

Charlie Dimmock          WA

Alex Dodson                   SA

Riley Dunn                      Victoria

Luke Fennell                  Victoria

Kristian Ferronato        Victoria

Corey Hastings              Victoria

Nevarda Higgins           Queensland

Joshua Hughes              Queensland

Josh Ibukunoluwa        WA

Elijah Kamu                    Queensland

Will Mortimore             NSW

Anthony Mundine       NSW

James O’Donnell          NSW

Noah Pagotto                NSW

Jaylen Pitman                Queensland

Ned Renfree                   Victoria

Ky Savage                        Tasmania

Roman Siulepa              Queensland

Thomas Snelgrove       WA

Martin Steen                  Victoria

Ben Waller                      Victoria

Rocco Zikarsky               Queensland


Opal Bird                         NSW

Monique Bobongie      Queensland

Olivia Bradley                SA

Jayda Clark                     WA

Edie Clarke                     Victoria

Meera Coburn               NSW

Macey Crawford           Tasmania

Emma Donnelly            NSW

Hilary Fuller                    Queensland

Rubi Gray                        Tasmania

Summah Hanson          Queensland

Sienna Harvey               Victoria

Isla Juffermans              NSW

Amy Kurkowski             Victoria

Caitlyn Martin               NSW

Georgia McBean           Victoria

Savannah Metcalfe      WA

Jessica Petrie                 Queensland

Sarah Portlock               Victoria

Saffron Shiels                 NSW

Lulu Twidale                  Queensland

Kyra Webb                      Victoria

Isabel Whitelaw            Victoria

Monique Williams       WA


Dyani Ananiev               Victoria

Isobel Borlase                SA

Tayla Brazel                    SA

Sophie Burrows             Victoria

Jada Crawshaw             NSW

Emily Foy                         NSW

Ella Gordon                    Queensland

Holly Griffiths                Victoria

Amelia Hassett              NSW

Tess Heal                         Victoria

Felicity Henderson       NSW

Mia Jacobs                      WA

Charli Kay                        Tasmania

Tenielle Knight              Victoria

Grace Little                     Queensland

Dallas Loughridge        Victoria

Skye Mason                    Queensland

Taylor Moffat                SA

Rose Nelson                   NSW

Amy O’Hara                    Victoria

Carla Pitman                  NSW

Nyadiew Puoch             Victoria

Lilly Rotunno                 Queensland

Jess Simons                    SA


Bowyn Beatty                ACT

Jensen Bradtke             Victoria

Alex Condon                  WA

Joel DeBarros                NT

Tomas Dobson              WA

Ethan Elliott                  WA

Harrison Evans             NSW

Thomas Gerovich         WA

Jackson Harding          Victoria

Rory Hawke                   Queensland

Ben Henshall                 WA

Darcy Jones                   Victoria

Alex Kovatchev             WA

Chol Machot                  Victoria

AJ Magbegor                                Victoria

Kobe McDowell-White               Queensland

Cooper Osborne                          SA

Geordan Papacostas                   Queensland

Daniel Poelsma                           Victoria

Tyrese Proctor                             NSW

Kane Runnalls                             Queensland

Sean Stock                                    SA

Alex Toohey                                 ACT

Yaak Yaak                                     SA

Luca Yates                                    Queensland