Abby Bishop

University of Canberra Capitals DOB: 29 Nov 1988 Height: 189cm Position: Forward Number: 4

Hometown: Adelaide, SA

Junior Association: Forestville and North Adelaide (SA)

Current Club: Canberra Capitals (WNBL)/PEAC Pecs (Hungary)

International Debut: 2005


Another international star to come from South Australia, Bishop quickly established herself as one of most athletic talls in the WNBL, winning the 2006 Betty Watson WNBL Rookie of the Year award at the AIS.

Staying in Canberra with the Capitals, Bishop began making waves on the international scene, leading Australia at the 2007 Under and Under 21 FIBA World Championships. These performances paved the way for Bishop to make an impact for the Jayco Australian Opals, earning a spot on the team for the 2010 FIBA World Championships.

From here Bishop would go to the WNBA, teaming up with Opals teammate Lauren Jackson to win the 2010 WNBA Championship with the Seattle Storm.

Now an Opals regular, Bishop returned to her native Adelaide for season 2011/12, teaming up with fellow Opals Suzy Batkovic and Jenni Screen. Another strong season booked her place on the plane to London for the 2012 Olympic Games where she would help the Opals win bronze.

Bishop made the move to Europe following the Olympics, signing on to play with French team Prepignan for the 2012/13 season. A productive season in France led the way for Bishop to return to Canberra and re-join the Capitals ahead of the 2013/14 WNBL season where she earned the league MVP award in 2015.

Additional Information

Previous Clubs:

2005-2006 – AIS (WNBL)
2006-2010 – Canberra Capitals (WNBL)
2010 – Seattle Storm (WNBA)
2010-2011 – Dandenong Rangers (WNBL)
2011-2012 – Adelaide Lightning (WNBL)
2012-2013 – Prepignan (France)
2013-Current – Canberra Capitals (WNBL)
2014 – PEAC Pecs (Hungary)

Major Awards:

Olympic Games: 2012 (Bronze)
FIBA World Championship: 2010
Maher Medal (International Player of the Year): 2011
FIBA Oceania Championship: 2007, 2011
WNBL All-Star Five: 2009
WNBL Championship: 2007, 2009, 2010
WNBL Rookie of the Year: 2006
WNBL MVP: 2015
WNBA Championship: 2010
FIBA U21 World Championship: 2007 (Silver)
World University Games: 2011 (Bronze)