Basketball Australia 2008 Junior Awards announced

Basketball Australia 2008 Junior Awards announced

Over 120 people from the basketball community from across the nation attended Wednesday's Basketball Australia Junior Awards breakfast at Starplex, to celebrate the announcement of the nominees and winners in 17 categories.

The participants were welcomed to the breakfast by Basketball Australia’s General Manager of National Teams & Competitions, Lorraine Landon.

Guest speaker at the breakfast was dual Olympian Coach and NBL championship coach Brian Goorjian. Brian gave insight to his remarkable career of coaching and shared some advice on coaching and playing from junior through to the elite level.

Basketball Australia has this week announced that the Coach of the Year award would be named after basketball coaching icon Patrick Hunt. Patrick has been involved in coaching and coach education in basketball for over 20 years and was instrumental in the development of junior coaching pathways and programs. It is fitting that the Basketball Australia Junior Coach of the Year awards be named in Patrick’s honour.

The winners that were announced at the morning’s award breakfast were:

Male Contribution to Players with an Intellectual Disability -Kevin Archer (NSW)

Female Contribution to Players with an Intellectual Disability - Meredith Evans (NSW)

Best Media Coverage -South Coast Register, Rob Crawford (NSW)

Male Vocation and Education Award - Daniel Fisher (VIC)

Female Vocation and Education Award - Darcy Wilson (NSW)

Junior Score Table Official of the Year - Judy Smith (SA)

Junior Statistician of the Year - Richard Noble (ACT)

Male Referee of the Year - Nathan Durant (SA)

Female Referee of the Year - Vanessa Devlin (SA)

Male Administrator of the Year - Jeff Larson (NT)

Female Administrator of the Year -Darlene Jenke (SA)

Male Volunteer of the Year Junior    Basketball -Anto Panoyan (NSW)

Female Volunteer of the Year Junior Basketball -Jodie Barratt (SA)

Male Player of the Year -Hugh Greenwood (TAS)

Female Player of the Year -Stephanie Cumming (VIC)

Patrick Hunt Male Coach of the Year -Guy Molloy (VIC)

Patrick Hunt Female Coach of the Year - Pam Hamilton-Smith (QLD)

Congratulations to all the national award winners.

Click here to see a photo gallery from the event