Boomers and Opals in their SEABL days

Share this article

Look over the stats and catch the highlights from when 22 members of the Australian Boomers and Opals played at SEABL level.

David Andersen: Debuting for Frankston as a 15-year old, Andersen played 13 games with the Blues before joining the AIS from 1996-98. Earning East Youth Player of the Year in 1998, he also made the All-Star five while finishing as the club’s leading rebounder.

Cameron Bairstow: His two year stint with the AIS in 2009-10 earned Bairstow a selection in an 11-man squad that toured the Arab Emirates while spending time in SEABL alongside Ryan Broekhoff, Matthew Dellavedova and Brock Motum.

Andrew Bogut: Leading the AIS to their only SEABL Championship in 2002, Bogut followed up that performance with the East Youth Player of the Year, a spot in the All-Star five and the East MVP in a whirlwind 2003 season. Playing half the games that Andersen did, Bogut still sits second all-time for rebounds and fourth for blocks and is the only AIS player to pull down 22+ rebounds in a game (which he did three times). His best game occurred on June 21, 2003 when he collected 43 points and 24 boards.

Ryan Broekhoff: His hot shooting stroke was evident from a young age as he hit 43% from the field while averaging double-figures in points from 2008-09.

Matthew Dellavedova: Playing for the AIS from 2007-09, Dellavedova’s best season occurred in 2008 when he averaged 15 points, five rebounds and four assists while scoring 20+ five times in 18 games.

Adam Gibson: Played for the AIS from 2004-05 before returning with Brisbane and Hobart from 2006-08 and 2010 although national commitments kept him from playing full seasons. He averaged 18 points, three boards and four assists in his time with the Spartans and was the East Golden Hands winner in 2010 (which subtracts turnovers from assists and steals to find an average).

Chris Goulding: As a member of the Brisbane Spartans from 2007-09, Goulding won East Youth Player of the Year two consecutive seasons in 2008 and 2009 while also making the All-Star five in his last year. Aged just 18 in 2008, he averaged 24.5 points per game to finish second in the competition with a season-high of 43 points. In 2009, averaged 20.8 points to finish fifth, second in free throw percentage (83%), ninth in three-point percentage (39%) and seventh in assists (three).

Nate Jawai: Played for the AIS from 2005-06 and averaged 14 points and seven rebounds in his second year.

Damian Martin: In 48 games from 2002-03 with the AIS, Martin averaged nine points, seven rebounds, three assists and two steals while winning the Championship in 2002 alongside Bogut.

Brock Motum: As a member of the AIS, Motum won South Youth Player of the Year in 2008 while finishing third for field goal percentage (57%). The following year, he led his team with 16.2 points per game at 60% shooting while grabbing 6.3 rebounds.

Brad Newley: Averaging 17 points and four rebounds in 2003 for the AIS was a strong start for Newley but he exploded in 2004 with 25 points, six boards and three assists to win East Youth Player of the Year and make the All-Eastern First Team.

Suzy Batkovic: Smashing several records in just one season with Launceston in 2001, Batkovic owns the all-time scoring average for women with 35.5 points per game. On top of that, she has the third best rebound average at 16.9 and third most blocks per game for a season at 3.7. She scored 47 points three times for the year, recorded a season-high of 27 rebounds, made the All-Star five and deservedly won the MVP.

Sara Blicavs: Leading Launceston in scoring in 2012, Blicavs was named to the All-Star team before moving to Geelong in 2013 where she has averaged double-figures every season including this year where she is currently averaging a double-double with rebounds.

Nat Burton: Despite an interrupted season due to national commitments, Burton averaged 13 points and five rebounds, including two 20+ point performances for the Centre of Excellence (CoE) in 2014.

Katie-Rae Ebzery: Has played for the CoE in 2015, sitting fourth in the league for assists while having the best assist/turnover ratio in the league.

Rachel Jarry: Starring in her debut season in 2010, Jarry averaged 19.6 points and nine rebounds to win the SEABL MVP as well as Ballarat’s MVP. She made the All-Star team and helped take the Lady Miners to the playoffs for the first time in three years.

Alice Kunek: Debuting for Kilsyth in 2010, Kunek made the move to Nunawading in 2011 where she won Youth Player of the Year, receiving 50 out of a possible 72 votes while top-scoring for the league. In 2012, she was an All-Star thanks to 18.6 points and six rebounds per game and then made the move to Ballarat in 2013 where she finished third for scoring (23.2 points), tenth for field goal percentage (47%), sixth for free throw percentage (85%) and eighth for three-point percentage (37%). National commitments meant she had limited playing time for Sandringham in 2015 but she remained consistent, averaging 15 points and six rebounds.

Tessa Lavey: Proved her all-round game early with nine points, four rebounds and three assists for Canberra in 2012 before improving that to 11 points, four boards and four assists the following year. Making the move to the CoE in 2014, she finished second for assists (4.3) in the league and has been one of the stars for Bendigo in 2015.

Tess Madgen: Played only a few games for Knox in 2014 as an injury replacement but collected 56 points, 23 rebounds and ten assists in her first two games.

Belinda Snell: Playing for Nunawading in 2000, she holds the fourth best points per game average for the club at 18.9 to go along with ten rebounds and four assists. She made the move to the Sydney Sharks for 2001-02, recording a 53-point game in 2011 on 10-17 three-point shooting. Snell also pulled down 19 defensive rebounds in two separate games in 2002 on her way to the MVP while making the All-Star five every year.

Stephanie Talbot: In just her second SEABL round in 2014 as a member of the CoE, Talbot recorded a triple-double before finishing with 14 points, eight rebounds and a league-best 5.5 assists for the year. Canberra snapped her up in 2015 where she led them in points, assists, steals, field goal percentage and free throw percentage despite national commitments.

Kelly Wilson: A scoring machine, Wilson has averaged double-figures in every SEABL season since debuting with the AIS in 2002. She moved to Bendigo in 2005 before returning in 2009-11 where she won the 2009 MVP on the back of a league-high 26 points, seven rebounds and five assists per game. Moving to Knox for 2012-15 saw her win the 2013 SEABL Championship and she is currently averaging 20 points, five rebounds and seven assists in 2015 as a member of Bendigo once again.

*The full Opals squad will be announced in the coming days.