Boomers Team Announced for Fourth Window of FIBA World Cup Qualifiers.

Share this article

The Australian Boomers team that will front the next phase of the Boomers’ road to the 2023 FIBA World Cup has been announced, as the fourth window of the FIBA World Cup qualifiers get underway at the end of August.

2022 FIBA Asia Cup gold medallists, Mitch McCarron and Sam Froling will make it three Boomers campaigns in three months, after competing in both undefeated Melbourne and Jakarta series.

Tokyo Olympics bronze medallist, Nick Kay will reunite with the Australian lineup for the first time since captaining the February World Cup qualifiers in Japan, with fellow B-League players, Angus Brandt and Rhys Vague also making themselves available to the Boomers once again.

Pick 56 at this year’s NBA draft, Luke Travers and NBL 2022 Champion, Dejan ‘DJ’ Vasiljevic will both debut for the Boomers, while Centre of Excellence graduates Alex Toohey and Rory Hawke will have their chance to don the green and gold for the first time. Alex Mudronja will also make his second Boomers appearance.

Perth Wildcats duo Todd Blanchfield and Mitch Norton take their place in the side, with Norton making his first Boomers’ appearance since 2019.

The selected 12-man Australian team will travel to and take on Bahrain on August 25, before returning home to host Iran in Bendigo on August 29.

After coaching the Boomers to the FIBA Asia Cup gold medal, Mike Kelly will head the Australian team and will be joined by Centre of Excellence head coach Robbie McKinlay and Jamie Pearlman to round out the coaching staff.

“Our last two performances in Melbourne and Jakarta were really solid, I look forward to working with this group of players who have made themselves available for these games. Bendigo is a great basketball town and you know that whenever the Boomers set foot on the court you will get a physical encounter so the fans have a lot to look forward to,” said Kelly.

Tickets on sale here.


Todd Blanchfield

Angus Brandt

Sam Froling

Rory Hawke

Nick Kay

Mitch McCarron

Alex Mudronja

Mitch Norton

Alex Toohey

Luke Travers

Rhys Vague

Dejan Vasiljevic