Boomers Team announced for World Cup Qualifier

Share this article

The Australian Boomers team will head to Kazakhstan to play the fifth window of the FIBA World Cup qualifiers. The Boomers will play one game against Kazakhstan on Saturday 12 November 2022.

NBL Champion and Grand Final Series MVP Xavier Cooks is an exciting inclusion into the team, this will be his first time suiting up for the Boomers since making the Tokyo 2020 Olympics squad.

Nine of the players from the Bendigo window have been recalled including Perth Wildcats Mitch Norton and Todd Blanchfield, Dejan ‘DJ’ Vasiljevic and Luke Travers. Jack McVeigh will return to the green and gold after last representing in Melbourne.

2022 FIBA Asia Cup gold medallists, Mitch McCarron and Sam Froling will reunite for their fourth campaign after notching up three undefeated performances in the green and gold.

Tokyo Olympics bronze medallist, Nick Kay will return for his third window following his success as captain in the Okinawa and Bendigo windows. He will be joined by fellow Japanese B. League player Angus Brandt.

Centre of Excellence athletes Alex Toohey and Rory Hawke have received the call-up following their debuts in Bendigo.

FIBA Asia Cup gold medal winning head coach Mike Kelly will be joined by assistant coaches Jacob Chance (Tasmanian JackJumpers) and Jamie Pearlman (Adelaide 36ers).

Kelly is looking to maintain the Boomers unbeaten record in this window.

“We have an exciting Boomers group heading to Kazakhstan for this important World Cup Qualifier. It’s great to have continuity within the team and a great mix of experience and youth. These players have been playing well in Australia and Japan recently and are ready to team up to play at the highest level for Australia,” Kelly said.

The NBL will pause their season for the FIBA window continuing their support of the Boomers to ensure the best players and coaches available.


Todd Blanchfield
Angus Brandt
Xavier Cooks
Sam Froling
Rory Hawke
Nick Kay
Mitch McCarron
Jack McVeigh
Mitch Norton
Alex Toohey
Luke Travers
Dejan Vasiljevic