ASC History

The Australian Schools Championships (formerly known as the National School Basketball Tournament) first began in Sydney in 1983. In the tournament's first year, Templestowe High School won both the Men's and Women's Championship Divisions.

Twenty-five years on, in 2008 a record number of teams nominated for the championship and over 1,300 young athletes represented 145 school teams from seven States and Territories at the Championship. Hosted by the Newcastle Basketball Association in conjunction with Basketball Australia and Basketball NSW, the athletes competed across 19 Junior and Senior, Male and Female divisions, with the winners crowned as the best school basketball team in their division in the country.

The tournament now runs in the first week of December each year with three age groups; Senior (19 & Under), Junior (17 & under) and Freshman (15 & Under). The top senior team from each state competes in the Championship Division for the ultimate title.

Previous Championship Division Winners

Year Location Male Champion Female Champion
1983 Sydney Templestowe HS Templestowe HS
1984 Brisbane Condell Park HS Templestowe HS
1985 Melbourne Melbourne HS Templestowe HS
1986 Adelaide St Peter's HS Nazareth College
1987 Canberra Marcellin College Nazareth College
1988 Wollongong Keira HS Lake Ginninderra College
1989 Brisbane Keira HS Lake Ginninderra College
1990 Melbourne Fig Tree HS Lake Ginninderra College
1991 Perth Wirreanda HS Bendigo Collee
1992 Adelaide Marist College Daramalan College
1993 Canberra Willetton SHS Daramalan College
1994 Penrith Willetton SHS Willetton SHS
1995 Devonport Parade College Willetton SHS
1996 Canberra St Patrick's Marist College Murray High School
1997 Canberra Lake Ginninderra College Willetton SHS
1998 Canberra Townsville SHS Nazareth College
1999 Canberra Wamers Bay Townsville GS
2000 Canberra Lake Ginninderra College Mercedes College
2001 Ballarat Lake Ginninderra College Westfield Sports HS
2002 Ballarat John Paul College John Paul College
2003 Ballarat John Paul College John Paul College
2004 Albury Oakhill College Terrigal HS
2005 Albury John Paul College Caulfield Grammar
2006 Geelong Townsville SHS Caulfield Grammar
2007 Geelong Lake Ginninderra College John Paul College
2008 Newcastle Caulfield Grammar Xavier High School
2009 Newcastle Caulfield Grammar Box Hill Secondary College
2010 Bendigo Sydney Boys High School John Paul College
2011 Bendigo Sydney Boys High School John Paul College
2012 Kilsyth/Knox Caulfield Grammar John Paul College
2013 Kilsyth/Knox Lake Ginninderra College Rowville Secondary College
2014 Canberra St Augustine's College Rowville Secondary College
2015 Canberra Lake Ginninderra College John Paul College
2016 Melbourne Marcellin College Box Hill Secondary College