School Champs Team Information


Key Contacts

All questions should be directed to


Tournament Timeline

16 Aug, 2019 - Early Bird Registrations Close

21 Oct, 2019 - Standard Team Registrations Close

1 Nov, 2019 - Individual Registrations Due

4 Nov, 2019 - Fixture released



Team Registrations for the 2019 Australian Schools Championships are now open.

Early bird registrations are open until 16 Aug, 2019 at $950 per team.

Standard team registrations for 2019 is $1050.

Team registrations will close on 21 October, 2019.

All athletes, coaches and team staff must complete individual registrations. You will require your team code from the team registration to complete.

Team Registration - Click here

Individual Registration - Click here



The 2019 Australian School Championships will be held from Sunday 1 December to Friday 6 December, 2019.

Sunday 1st December: Team Registrations, Training, Team Photos, Opening Ceremony & Technical Meeting
Monday 2ndDecember: Round Games
Tuesday 3rd December: Round Games
Wednesday 4th December: Round Games
Thursday 5th December: Preliminary Finals
Friday 6th December: Finals & Medal Presentations



The 2019 Australian School Championships will be held at the following venues:

State Basketball Centre - 291 George Street, Wantirna South VIC

Dandenong Basketball Stadium - 270 Stud Road, Dandenong VIC 


Opening Ceremony, Team Registrations & Technical Meeting

The Opening Ceremony and Team Registrations will take place on Sunday 1 December, 2019 at the State Basketball Centre.

All teams are required to complete their registration on this day and attend the Opening Ceremony and Technical Meeting.



The fixture for the 2019 Australian Schools Championships will be released approximately one (1) month prior to the commencement of the championship.



The Australian Schools Championships has two divisions: Championship Division & Participation Division.

Championship Division: The Championship Division is for the top placed senior team from each state, with a maximum of eight (8) teams of each gender. Teams need to qualify through and be nominated by their respective State/Territory Basketball Association. Wildcard Places: If a state declines to send a team then schools may be invited to apply for a wildcard position. To be eligible for a wildcard  position the school must be registered and intending to participate in the participation division. 

Participation  Division:  The Participation division is open to all Australian secondary schools. It is played in the below age groups with multiple divisions dependent on the number of nominations.

Participation Division Age Groups:
Senior U20 Division: for players aged 19 years and younger as at 31 December, 2019 – born in 2000 or later
Junior U17 Division: for players aged 16 years and younger as at 31 December, 2019 – born in 2003 or later
Freshman U15 Division: for players aged 14 years and younger as at 31 December, 2019 – born in 2005 or later


Tournament Guidelines

The tournament guidelines for the 2019 Australian School Championships can be found here.



The official basketball of the Australian School Championships will be the Spalding TF-1000 Legacy.

Teams will be provided game balls and there will be balls available warm up. Teams will need to bring their own basketballs for any training sessions.



Training courts will be available pending the fixture. If you would like to request a training session prior to the championships please contact




Quest Apartments are proud to partner with Basketball Australia for team accommodation for the upcoming Australian Schools Championships. Quest Apartments have 5 venues in close proximity to the championships with availability for your team.

Please click here to send your requirements to the Account Manager at Quest Apartments to prepare a proposal.



There is also plenty of other accommodation is the surrounding areas. We have put together a short list of places to close by. Please note that the Australian School Championships is not officially affiliated with any of these venues.

Click here to view list.