Frank Ponta Cup

U20's Championships

About The Frank Ponta Cup

The Frank Ponta cup is an exciting addition to the Australian wheelchair basketball calendar and serves many purposes in the wheelchair basketball landscape.

Frank Ponta

The tournament is named after 5 time Paralympian, Frank Ponta, who is widely considered the father figure of the Australian wheelchair basketball program.

The teams are named after four of the captains from the Australian men’s team program:

John Turich - Inaugural captain of the Australian men’s wheelchair basketball team

Sandy Blythe - Co Captain of the 1996 Atlanta gold medal winning team. The international player of the year medal is also named after the late Sandy Blythe.

David Gould - Co Captain of the 1996 Atlanta gold medal winning team.

Brad Ness - Captain of the 2008 Beijing gold medal team and the 2010 World Championship winning team

This year’s tournament also sees the inclusion of the Women’s National Program, the Gliders, as they prepare for the World Under 25 World championships for women, and also the London Paralympic games.

The tournament provides quality games and the ability for player to play as their classification. The Frank Ponta Cup also provides opportunities for coaches to ply their trade in a more competitive setting. This year, along with the 4 NWBL coaches, there will be 8 development coaches attending, which will help to expand our coaching stocks around the country. In the same way, it will also offer the opportunity for developing referees and officials to take control of games in a competitive environment and continue their education in our sport.

The Frank Ponta Cup has grown from 2010, there is now 5 teams competing and 12 coaches involved. It will continue to grow as the years progress and all the while will be spreading the word about wheelchair basketball.

Return To Top

Team Lists (2011)

Team Ness

Head Coach: Brett Paxton
Assistant Coaches: Fleur Mills & Warren Brown

Tige Simmons
Phys Baxter
Nick Taylor
Brett Nicholson
Ben Wright
Sam Clarke
Brad Fisher
Josh Christian
Liam Hunter
Adam Deans

Team Blythe

Head Coach: Sonia Healy
Assistant Coaches: Nathan Damm & Peter Anderson

Jeremy Doyle
Tim Markcrow
Grant Mizens
Tony Wade
Jeremy Synot
Nick Radovich
James Leonard
Jason Voncina
Bill Ferguson
Brett Stibners

Team Gould

Head Coach: Lee Nott
Assistant Coaches: Gareth Munro & Peter Sumpter

Dylan Alcott
Yara Ryan
Jamie Stewart
Adrian King
Matt McShane
Ben Noble
Daniel Deltoso
Robbie Pike
Luke Watkins
Alex Davis

Team Turich (U23)

Head Coach: David Gould
Assistant Coaches: David Roberts & Mark Casson

Graeme Docking
Colin Smith
Bailey Rowland
Kayl Jeffery
Keegan Oh'Chee
Tom O'Neil-Thorne
Josh Meoli
Michael Auprince
CJ Gorgan
Jordan Bartley
Ryan Morich

Team Gliders

Head Coach: John Triscari
Assistant Coach: Ben Osbourne
Manager: Marian Stewart
Physio: Marinda Wallis

Amber Merritt
Cobi Crispin
Leanne Del Toso
Sarah Vinci
Clare Burzynski
Melanie Hall
Kylie Gauci
Sarah Stewart
Steph Van Leeuwen
Amanda Carter

Return To Top

Scores & Schedule

2 011 Frank Ponta Cup

Return To Top

Live Stats

Click here to access Live Stats

(Note: Live Stats are only available when a tournament is in play)

Return To Top