Loading Events

« All Events

FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup

September 22 - October 1

The 12-strong Australian Opals team for the FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup has been named.

Bec Allen and Cayla George will return for their third World Cup appearance, Marianna Tolo, Steph Talbot, Sami Whitcomb, Tess Madgen and Ezi Magbegor will return for their second appearance and Sara Blicavs, Darcee Garbin, Anneli Maley and Kristy Wallace will make their debut. Lauren Jackson will make her fifth World Cup appearance after last playing in 2010.

The squad is filled with international experience, with Allen (New York Liberty), Magbegor (Seattle Storm), Whitcomb (New York Liberty), Wallace (Atlanta Dream) and Talbot (Seattle Storm) all currently playing in the WNBA.

The Opals are aiming to add to their rich World Cup legacy, having won silver in 2018, bronze in 2014 and gold in 2006.

Ranked #3 in the world, the Opals have drawn Group C, with pool matches against France, Serbia, Japan, Mali and Canada tipping off on 22 September in Sydney.

The FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup will be played in Sydney from Thursday 22 September- Saturday 1 October.

Get Your Tickets Now.


September 22
October 1
Event Category:


Event Type