Junior basketballers honoured

Share this article

Two Centre of Excellence inductees, Abby Cubillo and Jazmin Shelley, have been honoured for their outstanding years with respective awards over the weekend.

Cubillo, a Darwin native, was named the 2015 Northern Territory Young Sportsperson of the Year at the NT Sports Awards on Sunday.

The point guard capped off a season in which she was inducted into the Centre of Excellence (CoE) class of 2016 and represented Australia at the FIBA Under-16 Oceania Championships.

She made her debut in the SEABL last weekend for the CoE, recording six points, two rebounds and an assist as the side’s starting point guard.

Shelley was named the  Junior Female Player of the Year, winning the Kristi Harrower Award, at the Basketball Victoria Country awards.

She joined Cubillo in the CoE SEABL team, also making her debut on Friday night with nine points on 4-5 shooting and seven rebounds in 19 minutes of court time.

The guard also represented Australia at the FIBA Under-16 Oceania Championships in 2015 while starring at the Under-16 national tournament where she helped Vic Country to a fourth-placed finish while averaging 13.4 points per game.

Only teenagers, these awards are sure to be just the beginning of bright futures for both Cubillo and Shelley and they will greatly benefit from their time at the Centre of Excellence.