Kilsyth Cobras take WNWBL Championship for 2015

Share this article

Completing a dominant season, the Kilsyth Cobras have overcome the heartbreak of a Grand Final loss last year with a 60-45 victory over the Be Active Western Stars.

The Stars had earned their place in the gold medal playoff after defeating the Minecraft Comets by a point in the preliminary final but found themselves trailing Kilsyth by 13 at half-time.

The tight defence and relentless offence of Alice Hammond, Leanne Del Toso, Clare Nott and Shelley Chaplin gave the Cobras that advantage and although the Comets responded to only lose the second half by two points, enough damage had already been done.

Kilsyth were led by double-doubles to Del Toso (12 points, 14 rebounds) and Hammond (10 and 13), Chaplin shot 6-8 from the field for 15 points and Nott finished with 13 points, seven boards and two assists. Melanie Adams (eight points, three assists) also proved integral in the win.

Despite the loss, the Stars were led by 30 points and 14 rebounds from Amber Merritt with Sarah Vinci (seven and four) and Georgia Inglis (four and nine with three assists) also keeping them in the contest.

In the bronze medal playoff, the Comets proved too good for Stacks Goudkamp Bears, winning 84-43 as Bridie Kean (28 points, nine assists) and Cobi Crispin (30 points, 12 rebounds, five assists) out-scored the opposition by themselves. Georgia Munro-Cook held her own for the Bears, stuffing the stat-sheet with 16 points, nine boards, two assists and two blocks.

At the end of season awards, Nott earned Finals series MVP honours and the 1.0 point MVP award. Kyle Gauci won the 2.0 point MVP, Del Toso earned the 3.0 point MVP with Merritt winning the 4.0 point MVP. Those played also made up the All-Star five with Best New Talent being won by Zeena Suavaga.

The third-placed playoff can be viewed via Basketball Australia’s YouTube channel here while the gold medal game can be viewed below.