Lauren Jackson AO receives ultimate Hall of Fame honour

Share this article

The 2x WNBA Champion (2004 & 2010) was presented by American WNBA icon and fellow “W25” (WNBA’s all-time 25) player, Sheryl Swoopes, joining the likes of WNBA legend, Yolanda Griffith among a group of 16 honourees to round out the Class of 2021.

Taken by Seattle Storm with the number one pick at the WNBA 2001 draft, Jackson quickly found herself adding accolades to her name. The WNBA Finals MVP in the 2010 Championship year; a 7x All-Star (the first in her rookie year), 3x MVP, 7x All-WNBA First Team, 2x WNBA All-Defensive First Team, 3x Scoring Champion and Defensive Player of the Year (2007), Jackson racked up an illustrious body of work throughout her WNBA playing career that lasted beyond a decade.

Solidifying her name in legend status, Jackson has been included in every WNBA milestone team including the All-Decade Team (2006), Top 15 Players (2011), Top 20@20 (2016) and most recently the W25 (2021), announced earlier this week.

Celebrating such a highly decorated career, Jackson now shares Hoop Hall company with the likes of Michael Jordan and the late Kobe Bryant. Reflecting on that time of her life, Jackson expresses how much of a whirlwind it all was.

“I was a little bit overwhelmed. All of a sudden, I was in this completely different world, things dreams are made of. It was super special and looking back on it I wish I understood it more in the moment but it’s awesome to be looking back at it now and thinking how great it was.”

Jackson is now officially one half of an exclusive Australian duo with Australian great Lindsay Gaze. The only two Australians to hold a spot in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame after Gaze was inducted in 2015, recognising his incredible coaching tenure.