Lauren Jackson Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Finalist

Share this article

Australian great Lauren Jackson has been named among the 14 finalists up for election to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame’s Class of 2021.

Jackson was named by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame alongside eight other extraordinary players and five exceptional coaches as finalists from the North American and Women’s committees to be considered for election in 2021.

Currently Basketball Australia’s Head of Women in Basketball, Jackson remains Australia’s most successful basketballer whose achievements include a seven-time WNBA All Star (2001-2003, 2005-2007, 2009) and three-time WNBA most valuable player.

Jackson has a playing resume stacked with achievements, championships and accolades including leading the Seattle Storm to WNBA Championships in 2004 and 2010, while collecting WNBA Finals MVP honours in 2010.

In 2007, she was named the WNBA Defensive Player of the Year, while leading the league in rebounding and points per game. Jackson was also named a member of the WNBA’s All-Decade Team in 2006 and the Top 20 Players in the league’s 20-year history in 2016.

As a superstar of the Australian WNBL, Jackson is a five-time All-Star (1999-2004), four-time MVP (1999, 2000, 2003, 2004) and four-time Grand Final MVP (2002, 2003, 2006, 2010).

With the Australian national team, the Opals, she is a three-time Olympic silver medalist (2000, 2004, 2008).

The entire Class of 2021, including those selected by the direct elect committees, will be unveiled on May 16, 2021.