Michele Timms to be immortalised as a legend alongside seven inductees in AUS Basketball Hall of Fame

Share this article

One of the pioneers of Australian women’s basketball, Michele Timms will be enshrined as a Legend while seven athletes, coaches and contributors will be inducted when the 2016 Australian Basketball Hall of Fame is held on Friday, November 25 in Melbourne.

For more information on the Hall of Fame click here.

Playing 285 games in the WNBL, Timms won five Championships (1986-89, 1992) and was named in the All-WNBL team seven times (1988-92, 94, 96) during her playing days with Bulleen, Nunawading, Perth and Sydney.

“To be elevated to Legend status is a prestigious honour that I am truly overwhelmed to be receiving,” Timms said.

“I am overawed when I look at the current Basketball Australia Legends, people that are synonymous with basketball in this country like Gaze, Watson, Ramsay and Raschke.

“It is a special feeling to be named alongside them.”

A trailblazer on the international scene, Timms became the first Australian basketballer to play overseas as a professional when she signed with German club Lotus Muchen in 1989.

She represented Australia in 264 international games, competing in four World Championships (1986, 90, 94, 98) and at three Olympics where she won a bronze medal in 1996 and a silver medal in 2000.

Perry Crosswhite, Jeanie Kupsch, Liesl Tesch and Jenny Whittle are the four athletes who will be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Between them, they represented Australia at five Olympic and five Paralympic Games, winning three silver and two bronze medals combined.

A star of the WNBL, Whittle won two Championships and a league MVP before being awarded Life Membership in 2006.

Crosswhite was a pioneer in the establishment of professional sports administration in Australia, helping to establish a national league with paid players in the 1980’s.

Kupsch and Tesch are trailblazers of the women’s game with Kupsch notable as one of the first great exponents of the jump shot while Tesch became the first Australian woman to play professional wheelchair basketball in Europe in the early 2000’s.

Contributors Ronald Harvey and the late Ken Watson will be inducted alongside those four players.

Playing, coaching and administrating basketball for over 50 years, Harvey has enjoyed roles as the NBL Chairman, Director of the Australian Institute of Sport and as President of Basketball Australia before becoming the first Australian to be awarded the International Olympic Committee’s Pierre de Coubertin medal in recognition of his contribution to the promotion of the Olympic spirit.

The founder of the Melbourne Tigers, Watson was also the first coach of Australia’s national men’s basketball team at an Olympics. His work at junior level led to the introduction of the Melbourne Junior Classic, the Australian Club Championships and alongside his wife, Betty, helped bring women into basketball with a number of female participation initiatives.

The only coach to be inducted in the 2016 class, Patrick Hunt represented Australia over 300 times at World Junior Championships and World University Games as well as an assistant coach of the Boomers from 1989-1992.

Hunt was the manager of national player and coach development for Basketball Australia and head coach of the national intensive training centre program at the AIS from 1993-2008 while conducting clinics around the FIBA Oceania region before being named President of the FIBA World Association of Basketball Coaches (WABC) in 2010.

The 2016 Basketball Australia Hall of Fame Class

Perry Crosswhite AM
Jean Forster
Liesl Tesch AM
Jenny Whittle

Patrick Hunt AM

Ron Harvey AM
Ken Watson BEM

Michele Timms

Media contact:

Lisa Hasker
Basketball Australia
0418 194 933