Past and present SEABL MVP winners

Share this article

Ahead of the SEABL MVP Lunch on Sunday, September 13, take a look back at the history of the Most Valuable Player award since its inception in 1989.

Tony Lewis is seeking to become the ninth player in SEABL men’s history to win back-to-back MVP’s after he recorded 147 votes in last year’s awards, ten more than any other player.

Finishing third in the 2014 voting, Daequon Montreal will again contend after tallying 121 votes while Damian Johnson should improve on his 93 votes from last season and challenge for the title.

In the women’s competition, last year’s winner, Maddie Garrick, will not be in contention after playing just nine games but 2013’s victor, Kelly Wilson, could make a late charge as she led the league in assists with 6.2 a game.

If Wilson were to cause the upset, she would join Sharon Simon and Karen Ashby as three-time MVP winners while Regina Days went back-to-back in 1990 and 1991.

A perennial vote-getter, Steph Cumming finished just four votes behind Garrick in 2014’s voting while Kathleen Scheer and Kelly Bowen also finished in the top ten and are sure to contend again this year.

Several past winners have become household names as their careers progressed onto the international stage, namely Andrew Bogut who collected the award in 2003 when the AIS won their first Championship.

Anthony Petrie has also forged a solid career in the NBL and with the Australian Boomers while Australian Opals stars Belinda Snell, Suzy Batkovic, Rachel Jarry and Jess Bibby and current WNBA players Penny Taylor and Jenna O’Hea all left their mark on the SEABL in their junior years.