Under 17 squads take first step to 2014 World C'ships

Under 17 squads take first step to 2014 World C'ships

The first step towards the 2014 FIBA Men’s and Women’s Under 17 World Championship have been taken after the squads came together at the Basketball Australia National Centre of Excellence in Canberra for the first time.

With the clock ticking down to one year before the men’s tournament at the end of June 2014 and the women’s tournament in early July 2014, the chance for the first group of players to impress the coaching staff.

An 18-player squad was brought together by Australian Under 17 Women’s Head Coach Chris Lucas, with Victoria Metro sporting the most representatives as four players made go the invitation to the nation’s capital.

Under 17 Men’s national team Head Coach Mark Watkins also called on an 18-strong squad for his first camp of the campaign, with players from New South Wales, Victoria, Western Australia, South Australia, Queensland and Tasmania.

The camps ran from June 7-10.

Under 17 Women’s Training Camp Squad
Sara Anastasieska NSWM
Grace Collett VICM
Madeleine Dennis WAM
Jasmine Forcadilla NSWC
Ella Hellessey VICC
Jade Johnson SAM
Bride Kennedy-Hopoate QLDS
Anneli Maley VICM
Megan McKay WAM
Krystle McKenzie QLDS
Courtney Middap TAS
Danijela Milisic NSWC
Bridget O’Brien QLDS
Brigitte O’Neill VICM
Taylor Ortlepp SAM
Alexandra Sharp VICM
Elizabeth Tonks NSWC
Morgan Yaeger SAM

Under 17 Men’s Training Camp Squad
Jayden Hodgson (NSWC)
Darryl McDowell- White (QLDS)
William McDowell- White (QLDS)
Matt Owies (VICM)
Kyle Clark (TAS)
Tom Wilson (VICM)
Trent McMullan (VICC)
Jack White (VICC)
Rob Colton (ACT)
Kuoat Noi (NSWC)
Austin Clarke (SAM)
Isaac Humphries (NSWM)
Jock Perry (VICM)
Harry Froling (QLDN)
Jacob Pupavac (VICC)
Tim Molloy-Leigh (VICC)
Blake Allison (VICM)
Sean Cranney (NSWC)
Unable to attend: DJ Vasilijevic (VICM) and Abi Atkintola (VICM)