Wheelchair International Camp Underway at AIS

Share this article

Australia’s men’s national wheelchair basketball teams, Rollers and U23 Spinners are set to undergo a 12-day camp at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra.

The Camp started on Wednesday and will run until Sunday, July 31. The Rollers and Spinners will host both Germany and Japan, as both Aussie teams prepare for their respective World Championships later in the year.

The U23 Spinners’ World Championship will be in Phuket, Thailand from September 3-17 under Head Coach, Brad Ness.

“These guys are going up against three of the top eight in the world senior teams, so it is going to be a tough series of games for them and some great learning but will hopefully give them some invaluable game experience to prepare for their junior championships,” said General Manager of Basketball Australia’s Wheelchair and 3×3 programs, Leigh Gooding.

The Rollers are currently ranked fifth in the World, and will be facing Japan, who are coming off the back of a silver medal win from the Tokyo Paralympics, as well as the German team who finished seventh.

“It will be an extremely high-level and competitive series of International friendlies that we have put in place,” said Gooding.

The squad of 16 Rollers at the AIS camp will then be condensed down to 12 to head to the Tokyo Paralympics Anniversary event from August 22-26, and then on to the IWBF World Championships in Dubai from November 11-28.

Game one tips off on Thursday, July 21 at 3pm AEST with a scrimmage between the Rollers and Spinners.

Games can be streamed via Playsight.



Sammy White

Jannik Blair

Jeremy Tyndall

Matt McShane

Phil Evans

Shaun Norris

Andrew Dewberry

Tom O’Neill-Thorne

Kim Robins

John McPhail

CJ McCarthy-Grogan

Michael Auprince

Tristan Knowles

Bill Latham

Shawn Russell

Jordan Bartley

U23 Spinners

Frank Pinder

Hayden Siebuhr

Brayden Foxley-Conolly

Angus Johnston

Charles Smart

Eithen Leard

Lachlin Dalton

Mitchell Bond

Tomas Klien

Dylan Robinson

Harry Mullen

Jaylen Brown

Thomas McHugh

Ben Moncrieff

Zach Binns