WNBL Referee panel selected for 2017/18

Share this article

Basketball Australia has partnered with the state and territory Referee Managers to select the 2017/2018 WNBL Referee’s Panel.

This collaboration considered a large number of talented officials nominated from state and territory representative programs.

A total of 30 officials were appointed to the panel with a number of additional officials added to the newly formed National Referee Development Program (NRDP) while nine officials have been selected on the WNBL Panel for the first time.

Those NRDP referees are Riley Brown (Vic), Haylee Cole (NSW), Nicolle Di Conza (WA), Braden Dorrey (NSW), Kyle Easther (WA), Pat Haughton (QLD), Mitch Hudson (ACT), Alex McEwan (QLD), Brodie McLachlan (Vic), Hugh Starkey (SA), Daniel Troy (SA), Ben Simpson (Tas).

The 2017/18 WNBL season is shaping as the biggest and most successful season in the league’s history as it returns to TV after a two-year absence thanks to FOX Sports.

“In a similar manner to the players, those selected referees will now garner national exposure as FOX Sports will provide the platform to showcase Australia’s longest running elite female competition,” said Basketball Australia Officials Manager, Peter Carey.

“The scrutiny will be enormous with the pressure to perform consistently from game-to-game and week-to-week of paramount importance as always.”

The season tips off on Thursday, October 5 when the Jayco Dandenong Rangers host the Deakin Melbourne Boomers from 7.30pm.

The WNBL Referee Panel for 2017/18:

Baddock David VIC
Battye Daniel VIC
Brockway Rebecca NSW
Brown Scott QLD
Carey Sarah VIC
Cosier Michelle ACT
Cosier Simon ACT
Crowley-Long Maddie QLD
Devlin Vanessa SA
Di Conza Adrian WA
Fernandes Nicolas NSW
Flint Tayla VIC
Green Elliot VIC
Gilboy Aaron QLD
Griguol James SA
Grist Mark WA
Hamilton Justin VIC
Hare Mitch VIC
Hollowood Andrew VIC
Ireland Nikki SA
Kelly Jason VIC
Rice Robert ACT
Richards Guy NSW
Roberts Katie WA
Shafagi Shahrad NSW
Stewart Travis WA
Symons Kahli VIC
Taylor Jack ACT
Voevodin Kylie QLD
Wieland Nathan SA